Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Transmission service and band adjustment

Old 08-19-2009, 01:40 PM
Professional

Vehicle: 99 dodge 2500 4x4
Default Transmission service and band adjustment

Yip I am still new to dodge. The guy that i bought my truck from has overtorqued the trans pan gasket, and I hate leaks. Gonna drop the pan fro a fluid filter adn gasket change, I am wedling in a drain plug while I am there so i can drain the pan for future work instead fo wearing the fluid. Anyhow is ther a good reference for adjusting the bands, I have never messed with transmission besides chevys so bands and such are new to me. I know to use ATF+4 fluid adn to loosen the valve body bolts to drain some extra trapped fluids.

Anyhow anyone have a good how to on adjusting the bands? Amything else i should do while I am in there. Been reading up on thei check valve removal. Might get it done while I am there if I can find a good write up on it.

Thanks in advance.
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Old 08-19-2009, 02:19 PM
Veteran

Vehicle: 1999 Dodge Ram 1500 4X4 5.9L V8

If you do a search through the forum you will find plenty of write ups on how to adjust the bands. I believe there is even a link in the DIY forum page too. If the previous owner overtorqued the trans pan then it may have warped the bolt holes and you may still get leaks afterwards. You may want to consider replacing the pan if it is too bad. A new pan runs for like 50-60 I think.

Good Luck.