1995-2000 Dodge Avenger The Dodge Avenger had smooth styling in addition to solid craftmanship. To this day you can find Dodge Avenger enthusiasts proud to show of their gems.

Manual Transmission Question

Search this Thread

Old 12-25-2006, 02:41 AM
gumpster
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Manual Transmission Question

Hello all. New here, my first post. I'm looking for info on what the recommended transmission fluid is for a 1997 Avenger with 5-speed manual. Seems like it is a dealer only thing. Also what transmission is in the 97 avenger? I'm new to this car and don't have a lot of experience with it.

From my search on autozone.com, they list two manual transmissions, first was a A578 and the other was a NVT350. From what I gathered online, the NVT350 requires a fluid from the dealer with part number 04874465. When I went to the dealer, they said they needed the VIN number to determine what transmission was in the car. Any of this make sense or is the parts guy at the dealer full of BS?

Any way for me to tell what trans is in the car? Casting numbers or something similar?

Any help would be appreciated!

Old 12-25-2006, 03:20 AM
PappiDread6
Record Breaker
Default RE: Manual Transmission Question

Yeah I had this prob also with the tech, he was sayin there are 3 diff types of fluids. How one trans allows you to just use motor oil, there is secrimesh (if I spelled that right) and sum other stuff where its half trans half motor oil.All I under stood was(give me your money sucka). And I called the dealer same as you and got the same questions IMO your don't need that dealer stuff unless you have and automatic.