1st Gen Dakota Tech 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 1st Gen Dakota.

Rough Idle, Occasional Stall, Sputtering, Loud Engine Popping and Shaking at 50+ mph

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2015, 10:21 PM
Travis827
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rough Idle, Occasional Stall, Sputtering, Loud Engine Popping and Shaking at 50+ mph

Newbie question, and I'm no expert mechanic, so bear with me.

1994 Dodge Dakota 4x4 club cab. 195,000 miles on the truck, but it's got a rebuilt engine with anywhere from 10-20,000 on it. Custom lift, etc.

Since just the past few months, when I get going over 50 mph I get a loud, repetitive and deadly-sounding popping from under the hood. It also backfires loudly out the exhaust multiple times when I first start it for the day (I just drive it around town at low speeds.)

Haven't done much investigative work: just wondering if there's an obvious first step I need to take.

I had all headers replaced (and permanently sealed I believe?) just a few months ago.

The truck has had bad exhaust fumes since I bought it. Other than that it's run fine after that header replacement and up until now.

Any obvious suggestions? Many thanks.

Old 01-13-2015, 12:21 AM
92V8Dakota

Did you check for codes? Turn the ignition on and off 3 times quickly and then count the flashes. There's a list of explained codes on this forum. They are two digit codes so 2 flashes, a pause, 3 flashes equals a code 23. There will be a longer pause in between codes. I'm tring to figure out a similar problem with mine. No backfiring but I get the shaking at higher rpms. I got a map sensor code so I'm replacing that soon.

Old 01-17-2015, 03:28 PM
Travis827