1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

a/c not cold

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2008, 12:21 AM
jomo924
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default a/c not cold

i recently bought a 2001 durango v8 a/c didnt seem cold so i added a can of 134a ,,,it got cooler but i noticed that the hotter the car got and the day was, the less cool the a/c got,,, i know thats somewhat normal BUT i noticed that when a/c was off and blower was off air was still coming thru the dash vents (this doesnt seem right),,, i also noticed that both water hoses going into firewall were very hot (SHOULD THEY BE???) is there an apparent malfunction and if so what steps do i need to determine and correct the problem i am thinking my a/c is not entirely the fault here but maybe a vent door switch or actuator,,,, as i am new to dodge i can use any help or ideas out there,,,ty

Old 09-11-2008, 08:47 AM
Kensai
Champion
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

If the a/c and blower is off, you should not have any air coming out of the vents unless your on vent mode settings.

Check to make sure your auxillary electric fan kicks in when you use your A/C.

Check your condenser coil localted directly in front of your Radiator. Make sure it is clean and free of debris to get good air flow.

it could be your H Valve that may need replacing if your pressure and freon is nominal.

Otherwise, if eveything checks out, you may want to insulate the A/C return lines from the firewall back to the compressor.

A recommendation: Get yourself a good dashmat to cover that huge dash. It will make a WORLD of difference in cooling your D in the summer. I rarely move my blower beyond the 2nd speed setting to maintain cabin temp in 100+ Texas heat.

Old 09-11-2008, 09:53 AM
DRO318
Captain
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Maybe it is time to have the fluid vacumed and refiled with new fluid.

Hey kensai, your in tx, whats up man?

Old 09-11-2008, 12:54 PM
Kensai
Champion

DRO318,