1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

'99 Won't start, no gauges, idiot lights on all because I replaced TS Flasher

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2010, 04:38 PM
rancej
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '99 Won't start, no gauges, idiot lights on all because I replaced TS Flasher

Hi all, noob here. I apologize if this has been answered already but I scoured the forums and couldn't find this exact problem.

I bought my wife a 99 Durango on Sept. 4th, and she has been complained that the turn signals are intermittent. I could not duplicate the problem (until last night) thinking she was crazy. So I found this forum, read where the flasher box was located, purchased one at NAPA and replaced at 11am.

Checked the turn signals and the driver side now flashed fast, looked outside and noticed the driver side front was not working. Back to NAPA for a bulb.

Check to forum for bulb replacement, I don't have a torx screwdriver so I replace it from under the truck. Test left turn signal and it's still not working.

I don't have the manual and was too stupid to look at the fuse door for fuse placement so I pull every fuse out and check them. All appears well.

Back to forum, realize there are two bulbs (corner) one, crawl back under truck, can't get this one without removing headlight. Decide to drive truck (used my car for other trips) to NAPA thinking they will help me with torx screwdriver. Durango runs for 10 seconds and cuts off. Try again...same result.

I noticed the gauges and idiot lights are all on, I have no odometer. Now the truck won't start at all. Check battery---plenty of power. Disconnect negative cable, wait 30 minutes, return to truck, reconnect negative.

Now it won't start at all...just turns over fine. Back to the forums, try trip reset function...nothing. I noticed the radio works in the acc position (I have the clock/station displayed but in the run position there is no display but does have sound.