1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

Help! 98 Durango alternator/fusible link problems

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2015, 11:26 AM
TheCraftsman
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help! 98 Durango alternator/fusible link problems

Let me begin by saying i am a very novice mechanic. Mostly self taught through internet tutorials and mostly learned due to financial necessity.

Now for the problems. My 98 Durango was having an electrical problem that was showing all the symptoms of a bad alternator. Symptoms being: the battery (brand new) was not charging as I was driving. The accessories would lose power first as I saw the battery power draining, then the entire dash and eventually the engine would lose all power. I limped down to the auto parts store to have them test the alternator. They tested it in the truck and it was only producing 11v at the battery. Awesome, problem solved.... NO! I removed the alternator on the spot. I brought it in to be bench tested. The thing passes the bench test with flying colors. Ok so maybe a short in the cables. Here's where it gets worse for me. I reinstalled the alternator and was planning on limping it home. But it it seems i have exacerbated my problems. After reattaching the alternator and going to reconnect the neg lead on the battery i notice a little arcing between lead and terminal.. Odd... Try to start it back up, things aren't working too well, maybe worse than before. I examine things and notice the 140a fusible link is blown. Ok im thinking. Maybe this was the problem to start with. So I get a new fusible link, blows out immediately upon reconnecting the neg lead to the battery. Checked all connections, cleaned and re-connected. New fusible link. Same problem.