1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

Help! Heater core replacement.

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2016, 04:56 PM
Karx
Amateur
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help! Heater core replacement.

Hi guys my name is Zach, i am a TOTAL ROOKIE AS FAR AS CAR STUFF GOES and i have a 2000 dodge durango that has got coolant coming through the vents...ive been reading alot online lately and it seems that the heater core has gone bad. The car stays at a good temp but more and more coolant is coming through and i have decided to try and change it out myself........ i am about half way through this project (90% of the dashboard is out) and im starting to feel pretty overwhelmed.

i have not drained the radiator yet, i have not drained the freon from the A/C system, (i have no idea where to start with that, or if it is essential or if id go to jail for doing it the wrong way??) and i hope my steering wheel still goes straight when i try to put everything back together

There are wires everywhere and im not as worried about that but if somebody can give me some pro tips or a step by step as to how i should have done this it would be much appreciated. I have always wanted to learn and be good with cars but never dove in until now, so far what i have learned is that planning ahead and doing lots of research is essential im willing to step back and really listen to just about anything anybody has to say THANKS

Old 12-28-2016, 05:52 PM
Dodgevity
Champion
Received 376 Likes on 338 Posts

You should visit the Dakota forum now and then. Hope this helps. The OP is still very active there, so hit him up if you need help.

https://dodgeforum.com/forum/2nd-gen...h-removal.html

Old 12-29-2016, 11:53 AM
jaydubyagee
Amateur
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If you have the dash 90% out you are closer to being done than you think.

I think this video is a pretty good "how to" for the job.