1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

Need some tire advice

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2006 | 01:52 AM
TazKing
Default Need some tire advice

First, I will say I have read countless posts before I asked the question. I have a 2003 Durango SLT that had the 255/65-16 tires as original option. They are now General Grabber All Season (same size) and basically suck. Although I do not need 4 wheel drive, I do need decent clearance in the dirt as I work in construction and go into a lot of barely graded subdivisions. Mostly I run into soft sand and some muddy areas, nothing Jeep Country.

What I want is to replace the originals with either the stock on/off road size (245/70-16) or something a little taller for better clearance. I can pick the tire with the right bite, but don't know what is the best size to get for just part-time off roading. The LT type interests me for better dirt and towing, but can I go to a 265/75-16 or would this rub? When you enter the Durango in most of the tire shop sites, they give you few choices, none of which are LT. Could use some advise.

Old 08-21-2006 | 02:42 AM
Digitoxin
Professional
Default RE: Need some tire advice

I'm running GoodYear Wrangler AT/S. 265/75/16. There a about a inch gain in hight. From experience, I can say, they do not rub, but the speedometer was 4 mph slower. I caliberated it through the PCM. Hope this helps

Old 08-21-2006 | 07:11 PM
Mean Green
Champion