1st Gen Neon 1995 through 1999 Neons

1998 Dodge Neon, cuts out when fuel drops to 3/4 tank

Old 10-29-2010, 12:00 PM
Grahampham
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1998 Dodge Neon, cuts out when fuel drops to 3/4 tank

Just bought this car for my daughter. When the Fuel drops below 3/4 tank the car will sputter and cut out. Guy I bought it from said it was the fuel pressure regulator and showed me a part located on the fuel rail which he said was the faulty part. When I look in the Haynes manual the fuel rail doesn't look like the one on my car, and it says the fuel pressure regulator is actually located on the fuel pump (which this guy had already replaced) located on the right side of the gas tank. Does this sound familiar to anyone? Is there a way to know for sure this is the faulty part?

I am not a mechanic by any means, but must find a fix for this without paying a mechanic.

Thanks

Old 10-29-2010, 12:36 PM
Grahampham

Thanks, but that really didn't help

Old 10-29-2010, 01:04 PM
1969CoronetR/T
vaffanculo
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts

Welcome to the site. I will move this thread to the first generation Neon section,
FF

Old 10-29-2010, 01:10 PM
Grahampham

Thank you...

Old 10-29-2010, 01:19 PM
canadiansebring
Banned

You're welcome

Old 10-29-2010, 03:06 PM
DOHCgarrett t3
Record Breaker

thats messed up maybe the pick up tube is loose or something?

Old 10-29-2010, 05:29 PM
bg1995redneon
Captain

On a 1998 Dodge Neon, everything associated with the fuel pump, guage, regulator, filter, etc. is a single replaceable unit that fits inside the gas tank held in place with a lock ring. You can buy individual parts for one, but most folks just buy the full unit and a full unit is easier to find most of the time. If this guy actually did replace the fuel pump (as he said) then: