1st Gen Neon 1995 through 1999 Neons

Coolant boiling HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2005, 07:24 PM
NCAD
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Coolant boiling HELP!

Hello, I am a newbie here.

My 95 dohc neon is overheating due to boiling coolant. I replaced thermostat, radiator cap, and the waterpump is new. When its overheating, if I turn on the heat it blows cold air, not hot. And it spills coolant from the side of reservoir, right away. The fans still turning and working. I can still drive 10 miles before it overheats.

What could be wrong? Please help!

Old 08-29-2005, 10:41 PM
catman22
Professional
Default RE: Coolant boiling HELP!

well by reding your post the only thing left in the cooling system that is not new is the radiator. might be time for a new rad.

Old 08-30-2005, 05:21 PM
casper
Legend

Sounds like a blown head gasket to me. Try running the car with the cap off, it should stop bubbling after all the air is out. If it overheats and does not stop bubbling, you need to do the head gasket.

Old 08-31-2005, 12:20 AM
Strictlyfocused7

that should be fun!

Old 08-31-2005, 03:19 AM
RadarLove
Record Breaker

If you haven't flushed all the air out of the system, it will still boil, even with a fresh rad cap. It usually takes me 3 tries of running with the cap off, topping off as needed when the thermostat opens and level drops, to get all the air out of the system.

If air is still getting in, you'll get the bubbling back. Tracking down the leak can be a pain, because all it takes is a pinhole. My last one was coming from the radiator, right where the core meets the top end bell. The metal tabs that clamp it on were rusting off and a tiny gap had developed. Finally replaced with an rust-free aluminum core radiator after going through 3 crappy copper ones in New England...