1st Gen Neon 1995 through 1999 Neons

advice on some 95 SOHC problems

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2006 | 10:06 PM
press1280
Default advice on some 95 SOHC problems

OK, it looks like the rear main seal is leaking-I've got oil coming down around one of the bolts on the plate that separates the engine and tranny(I'm assuming this-LMK if it could be something else). I don't want to spend a bunch of money throwing in a rebuilt or take a chance on a junkyard tranny. Should I get a rebuilt kit and do it myself? Keep in mind I've never done this before, the existing tranny has never had a problem before(except for leaks which I should be able to take care of relatively easily),and I'm not in any kind of hurry to get this done,so I can take my time. Also,do I need a hoist and/or any other specialized tools?
Also,is there any way to tell whether the head gasket has been replaced with the MLS type? Other than regular oil leaks I haven't gotten coolant in the oil or vice versa,no smoke from exhaust exc. I'm just thinking since it has 110,000 miles that either its just crazy luck the original has held up or its been replaced at some point. Car was acquired used.

Old 10-29-2006 | 11:02 PM
winsettz
Veteran
Default RE: advice on some 95 SOHC problems

I believe between intake 1 & 2 there should be a "rivet" which sticks out if you have a MLS gasket for SOHC. For DOHC it's between intake 3 & 4.

Old 10-29-2006 | 11:42 PM
pimpberetta
Veteran

It could be a couple things. Have you noticed oil in that general area before?

Such as some on the oil filter. Just like a thin layer all the time.

My car always had that never knew where it came from.

Turned out to be the camsahft seal had popped out of its pocket.

Old 10-30-2006 | 01:07 AM
winsettz
Veteran

Anyhoo, I found the site on how to ID an MLS gasket:

Here.

Old 11-04-2006 | 12:23 PM
press1280