1st Gen Ram Tech '93 & older Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve 1993 Rams and older. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

1993 Oil Pan & Transmission

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2012, 03:37 PM
oleblue
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1993 Oil Pan & Transmission

All,

I could really use some help dropping my oil pan on my 1993 dodge ram 150. I can get all the bolts out of the oil pan without taking off the torque converter cover but I cannot get the oil pan to drop. I also can't get the torque converter cover off after I've taken off all its bolts as it seems wedged or something. If there is any trick or if this is a common problem let me know, it's my first time trying to do this.

The reason for having to drop it is because I took the timing belt cover off and with it came part of the oil pan gasket (of course) and it's caused me a bit of trouble since. Again, any help would be great as I am in a bit of a time crunch.

Thanks!

Old 05-07-2012, 07:38 PM
aje1127
Veteran

first off i think they make a partial oil pan gasket just for the purpouse of changing out the timing cover.if you really need to pull the oil pan i think you need to pull the starter to get the torque converter cover off,also need to drop the y-pipe on the exhaust. if you are going to pull the pan mabe a good idea to put in a new oil pump/rear main seal while your in there,just a thought. thats what i did,its your call. good luck

Old 05-07-2012, 08:11 PM
Comrade General
Captain

This is kinda off topic just I dont have a torque converter cover. Is that a problem?

Old 05-07-2012, 08:15 PM
crazzywolfie
Legend
Received 71 Likes on 67 Posts

i think it would since it would allow all the road dirt and debris to get in. i think if you can't find one from a first gen a 2nd gen one might fit.

Old 05-07-2012, 11:32 PM
oleblue