No crank? - DodgeForum.com

Notices
1st Gen Ram Tech '93 & older Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve 1993 Rams and older. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

No crank?

Reply

 
 
  #1  
Old 02-11-2014, 11:20 AM
SR2K
SR2K is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 7
Default No crank?

Hey all,
I just bought a 1984 D250 318 Automatic. The truck is in decent shape, I brought it home yesterday, started fine. This morning I was out looking over the parking brake and getting aquainted with the truck a bit. I had it running and then turned it off. Went to try and start it again and it won't crank, radio and everything come on in the run position, and turn off in crank, but the starter doesnt even try.

Anyone have any advice? Anyone have a wiring diagram for the ignition circuit?

Thanks,
Sam
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-11-2014, 11:51 AM
SR2K
SR2K is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 7
Default

Well I hate to be the person who posted and then figured it out, but I found the wiring diagram on advance auto parts and found the starter relay (Drivers fender, near battery) is on its way out. I whacked it a couple times and got it running.

-Sam
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-12-2014, 12:44 AM
NiNjAassasin545's Avatar
NiNjAassasin545
NiNjAassasin545 is offline
Amateur
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: California
Posts: 33
Default

my truck does that from time to time. im not sure why and i put a brand new relay in it... i had the same problem though.. it was running fine and then one day it just wouldnt start and i charged the battery for hours and tried a lot of stuff for a couple days.. and then i reached down and wiggled the wires a bit and thats all it took for it to crank over again. maybe we need new cables.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-12-2014, 08:50 PM
grantshultz1994's Avatar
grantshultz1994
grantshultz1994 is offline
Veteran
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 316
Default

on mine the connector cant be pushed in flush theres gotta be a gap for some reason...
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
mcasdorph
Dodge Caravan
4
11-09-2015 09:18 AM
jmhd1989
2nd Gen Ram Tech
7
10-17-2015 09:32 AM
quantass
Dodge Caravan
4
09-30-2015 03:10 PM
Monroe00ES
2nd Gen Ram Tech
5
09-28-2015 10:37 AM
delta1911
Dart, Demon, and Duster
1
09-26-2015 08:05 AM

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:49 AM.