1st Gen Ram Tech '93 & older Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve 1993 Rams and older. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Motor Flush ? is it Good

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2006, 05:27 PM
Captchnk
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Motor Flush ? is it Good

Howdy, this is my first time. I just purchased a 90 Dodge D-150 V-6 with 138K miles on it. or so I think. Just brought it home, looks like it had been rode hard and put up wet. I plan to give it a little bit of tlc and some bring back. I was looking at that Motor Flush by "Gunk" and it says to run it for 5 min then drain,,but if over 100K miles, then to take of the oil pan and clean the pan and screen?? is that easy to do. My mechanical knowledge is pretty much oil draining,, come tune up stuff... this Truck is giving me the Engine 101 kind of a crash course. But Any help would be greatly appreciated!! and any tips,as well.

Old 09-20-2006, 07:44 PM
dergani
Rookie
Default RE: Motor Flush ? is it Good

I dont know but a friend of mine bought a older cadillac and took it to a shop to be tuned up. They convinced him the engine could use a flush to get the gunk out and ended up ruining his engine. He threatened to sue and they bought him a new engine.

Old 09-21-2006, 07:18 PM
silverram99
Captain