1st Gen Ram Tech '93 & older Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve 1993 Rams and older. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Leaving tailgate down worsens mileage

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2007, 04:05 PM
erichills91
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Leaving tailgate down worsens mileage

MUST READ!!!!!!!!I received my summit racing catalog, and found an interesting article about gas mileage. They have recently proved that PUTTING YOUR TAILGATE DOWN worsens gas mileage than just leaving it up. When the tailgate is up, there is a sac of air inside the bed that bounces some air back up. When the tailgate is down, however, the wind flows from the top of the cab straight down to the bottom of the bed. I'm no aerodynamics expert, but from what I read, I believe them now.

Old 02-15-2007, 12:19 AM
kurts2
Record Breaker
Default RE: Leaving tailgate down worsens mileage

I've heard this befor also. However, I've also heard the other way! I guess it's up to the myth-busters!!
P.S. I just always leave mine up...if someone rear ends you with the gate down, they can get out of it and make you pay (so Iv'e heard...another case for the myth-busters??!)

Old 02-15-2007, 12:59 AM
Jacob1
Veteran

They already proven it, the tailgate down is worse. They've also tried no tailgate, a tailgate net, and bed cover.

Old 02-15-2007, 01:02 AM
kurts2
Record Breaker

What was the outcome with a topper or cover, better or worse?

Old 02-15-2007, 11:43 AM
HankL
Champion
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Mythbusters has had two episodes on this,
the 1st time they did a long highway test with two identical Ford F150s running in convoy on an interstate, one with the tailgate up and one with tailgate down, until one truck ran out of gas. The tailgate up got the better MPG, but by less than 1.