2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

Need some basic help, new guy attempting stuff

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2004, 06:54 PM
ccdoggy
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need some basic help, new guy attempting stuff

so as a "bonding" experience i thought that me and my dad would do stuff to our all stock 2001 dakota with the 4.7L engine. I was thinking that we do a cold air intake and the tail lights. not much but why not. I have no experience but have a good memory and can figure things out easily.

Im wondering what kind of intake will fit on this engine, i have been looking at the kits on e-bay and the only ones for the 4.7 do not include the long tube just the filter, supporting things, and a connection to the existing intake tube. Is that really the only way it can be done on that engine and are the e-bay kits any good. Im not lookin to spend more then $60 on the intake. and must be moderatly easy to install.

and whats that blue stuff on what i think is the radiator fluid cap?
and i have seen some peopel that have taken off the black square that looks like the intake tube leads off from, is it just a covering and i can take it off and is there a tube to connect the intake to directly? like here: http://www.eautoworks.com/productima...847install.jpg

Final question: is it easy to remove and replace the rear tail lights?
lookin at something like this:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...927746293&rd=1

Thanx allot for your help. i am currently at school an hour away from the truck and thats why all the weird questions, and i dont trust my dad with anything compplicated.

Old 10-13-2004, 11:47 PM
olsarge
Professional
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Need some basic help, new guy attempting stuff