2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

2001-02 545RFE flash possible

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2008, 03:44 PM
mprtech
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001-02 545RFE flash possible

First post, nice forum.

I'm a 13 Mopar master tech and I've found a way to flash my 01 4.7 45rfe with 545 software. I have tested it for 3 weeks now and have had no negative results. This fix is possible for 01-02 Dakotas, 01 Durangos with 4.7/RFE and 02 Ram DR trucks with 4.7/3.7RFE. 2002 Dakotas had a middle to late year changeover to NGC controllers, so if you have a 02 Dakota and your PCM has only 3 connectors then this will work for you. If you have 4 connectors there is no fix at the moment.

This is also possible just by swapping in a 01-04 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.7 TCM. The 01 TCM might not have 545 to begin with but it is flashable to gain 545.

I started this by swapping in a 2002 Jeep TCM. It worked instantly with no other mods. Because I could I did a quicklearn but only after the initial road test. Right out of the box it shifted well and had 5 forward gears. According to me and at least 3 others that have done this so far, TCC stays engaged much longer without constantly coming out and going back in. The shift characteristics are much improved over the Dodge software.

The only downside to this is: TCC gets bumped up to 50mph instead of the 40 we have with Dodge software. The only Jeep TCM that locks up at anything less than 50 is the AC prefix 04 TCM. But the AC software has issues, there is an update to take it to AD prefix, and the AD prefix has TCC back a 50mph.

So you may take a hit on milage in between 40 and 50 to gain up to 3mpg back above 54.

The Jeep TCM applies the 5th gear at precisely 54mph.