2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

preparing for complete driveline fluid change... help?

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2009, 11:05 PM
wink2873
Record Breaker
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default preparing for complete driveline fluid change... help?

I posted this on dak-dur.com and no one wanted to respond. maybe i'll get some help from you guys.

my 01 3.9 dakota with 42RE and 8.25 open diff just hit 60k miles. Ive been noticing alot of "clunking" comming from I think the rear end under acceleration and shifting. needless to say, the rear end, transmission (&filter) and torque converter has never had the fluid changed and its time to do it. I've never done this before, but Im relatively sure I could do it. It would be nice if I could find a write up or suggestions from people who know what they're doing before I try it. The only thing I have to go off of is a Haynes manual. I'm sure I'm supposed to use Mopar ATF+4 in the torque converter and transmission, but what do I use in the rear end? I would like to use a synthetic fluid in the rear. Also, does anyone know HOW MUCH of all these different kinds of fluids I need to buy? I would like to just go to the parts store and buy everything I need so I can get started without having to run to the store 5 times. Also, what all do I need gasket wise? How do I re-seal the trans pan and rear end?
Thanks

Old 04-26-2009, 11:16 PM
rtdakota2001
Record Breaker

dont you have a chilton? that should tell you fluid specs. also, dont forget to change your blinker fluid and your carburetor belt, it might start squeaking soon.

Old 04-26-2009, 11:19 PM
f0x672
Champion

also, make sure your u-joints are ok

Old 04-26-2009, 11:54 PM
wink2873
Record Breaker

Originally Posted by rtdakota2001
dont you have a chilton? that should tell you fluid specs. also, dont forget to change your blinker fluid and your carburetor belt, it might start squeaking soon.