2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

just a quick post

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2009, 10:59 PM
dino_squirrel
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default just a quick post

hye guys, I'm new, just about to walk out the door and I needed to get this up. I didn't have time to search so please spare me the learn to use search button but heres the issue - since I've had the truck (3 years) it's always sounded "not right" when starting. best i can describe is it sounded like it was skipping a tooth on the flywheel when starting, and then when I'd go to start it the starter would engage but no sound. you hear an initial click, but releasing the key and trying again about three times would get it to start. went to start it yesterday and nothing but grinding. took off starter and it ate three teeth on the flywheel, great. so I'm looking to replace the starter and flywheel. I'm not a noob to mechanics but I'm NOT a pro by anymeans. with the help of an online forum, I've replaced a headgasket for a 1.6l FWD car two years ago and it ran great after.

So basically, what am I looking at here, how long (one man), difficulty etc.

2001 Dakota
3.9 v6
2WD.
extended cab "sport"

I'll be back in about an hour.

Thanks guys, I appreciate it.

Old 11-04-2009, 05:08 PM
Crazy4x4RT
Hall Of Fame
Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts

Sounds like the starter was positioned incorrectly or the solenoid was not fully engaging. Ether way ya replace the starter. You should post this in the 2nd Generation Dakota sub forum. I will move it there for you.

Old 11-04-2009, 10:00 PM
Independentfool
Veteran

it will be difficult for 1 man. You need to get the trans out to be able to change the flywheel.

Old 11-05-2009, 12:44 AM
dino_squirrel