2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

Broken rear caliper piston - Next steps?

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2011, 09:30 PM
csamson
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Broken rear caliper piston - Next steps?

I’m replacing the rear rotor and pads on an 03 Dakota Quad cab, 4x4. I got everything apart and the rotor in place. However, I put the inboard pad in upside down, and in doing so I took a wedge out of the caliper piston. The wedge is ~1in wide and 3/8” deep. No fluid leak as of yet, but the piston is pushed all the way in, in preparation for putting in the new pads. I’m not sure if it will start leaking once it extends.
As I see it I have two options, replace the caliper or replace the piston and boot. I’m assuming the former is easier than the latter. As you can tell, I’m no mechanic. Do I have to buy two calipers? The book indicates replacing them in pairs. Anything I should watch out for when replacing the caliper (other than myself).
Thanks.

Old 12-23-2011, 09:31 PM
thunder98110
Champion
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

i didint think Dakotas had rear calipers, i thought it was always drums.

Last edited by thunder98110; 12-23-2011 at 09:34 PM.
Old 12-23-2011, 10:01 PM
Xxaler
Professional

I'm not sure what you're talking about a wedge 1" deep and 3/8" wide? Please elaborate..

You don't have to replace your calipers in pairs, but it is recommended to keep even braking power on both sides. If you just put in new pads and rotors on both sides, I honestly wouldn't even worry about it.