"no bus" code - DodgeForum.com

Notices
2nd Gen Dakota Tech 2nd Gen Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.
Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

"no bus" code

Reply

 
 
 
  #1  
Old 05-23-2015, 10:43 PM
sicksnoopy71
sicksnoopy71 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1
Default "no bus" code

Hi lady's and gents. I have a 2002 Dakota 3.9l automatic that is driving me insane! I am stuck at a couple places left to check but I'm hoping to get someone that has experienced the same issues before to maybe help me speed up this process of elimination. For some reason whenever it feels like it the truck will shut off. I'm pretty positive it's something that is tripping the signal to the fuel pump because when code shows up I don't hear fuel pump cut on and there is no fuel pressure at the fuel rail. The code is the "no bus" code will show up on dash...meaning there is no communication with pcm and engine or cluster or something like that. Point is...I have already cleaned every ground there is, checked all fuses, replaced crankshaft sensor, and have checked for voltage at sensor connections. All are getting communication so I assume it's one of the many sensors that are tripping this truck. That or a bad pcm but I don't feel I've done enough to check all sensors because I don't know how to check them. Any help would get grateful here. When it does not throw code it starts right up, runs fine then after a while or when gets hot will shut off and begin to get worse until it throws code gain and goes into dumb mode.
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-23-2015, 11:04 PM
jkeaton's Avatar
jkeaton
jkeaton is offline
Site Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 23,513
Default

Welcome to DF. Moving to the correct section.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-23-2015, 11:30 PM
magnethead
magnethead is offline
Grand Champion
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,115
Default

Sounds to me like a bad solder joint in the PCM. And no, you really don't want to open it.

When you get the no-bus message, check for 5V @ the sensors. TPS being easiest to probe.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-24-2015, 11:16 AM
brink5's Avatar
brink5
brink5 is offline
Rookie
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 61
Default

It sounds like something is heating up and expanding causing a short. Scan tool would be helpful that shows live data as you may be able to catch it right before everything shuts down. Definitely want to check your 5v sensors after it occurs.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: "no bus" code


Featured Sponsors

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: