2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

2003 Dakota 3.9L Bank One Misfires

Search this Thread

Old Yesterday, 02:59 PM
Damcam
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 2003 Dakota 3.9L Bank One Misfires

Hey guys I'm new to the dodge forum. Picked up a 2003 Dodge Dakota single cab from my uncle with the 3.9L. It sat for 4 years in the front yard and cranked right up with a jump pack. The truck currently has 118,000 miles on it. Got it with 103,000 and is in great condition. I'm having a bit of a problem with it that I've been fighting for about 2,000 miles and would like to hear some advice from everyone else. I picked up a misfire on Cyl 1,3 and 5. Has a light stumble in idle and runs smooth under throttle then on the highway you can start to feel a stumble again. Naturally i felt to do a tune up so i did Plugs (gapped properly), Wires, Distributor cap/rotor, Distributor pickup coil and also a crank position sensor. Still had the misfire. Also from a while back like 5,000 miles before this the truck did break down but the coil went out so its also relatively new. Fired up and still misfiring. The Pcv valve started to make a loud racket and i replaced that which fixed the light throttle stall it had problems with. Decided it was a good idea to check my 02 sensors the data looked good but the truck sat for a while so said why not and did the bank one sensor one 02. Still has the stumble. Compression is between 180-160 on all 6 cylinder. Fuel pressure sits around 55 psi at idle under throttle no change and nothing seems funky with the fuel trims. My buddy who had a 3.9 project gave me a known good ecm to try out and known good injectors still no change. I was nervous about the truck sitting for so long and did a complete seal overhaul on the engine and good thing i did because there was a ton of soot in the top end and in the pan. Heads did not have any cracks and valve seats showed no leaks. Cam lo