2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

thermostat fluctuates

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2006, 04:49 AM
Blue2000SLT
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default thermostat fluctuates

Howdy all, I just bought this truck and Im new to the Dodge world also....
I really like the truck so far, but the temp guage has me scratching my head. while driving down the road the temp guagesets at about 190 to 195, but when I stop it soars up to about 240 to 250.
I felt the top of the radiator hose/cap and it doesn't feel that hot.
could the change in voltage/amps from driving to idle be causing this change in the guage??? also, if I sit with the ignition in the accessory position and watch the guage, It will drop back down to normal 190 to 195 in about 3 minutes.

Its raining now, Ill post some pics in my sig tomorrow after the rain moves on.

Old 12-31-2006, 06:10 PM
superdak05
Champion
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: thermostat fluctuates

3 possible things.1 fan is not working and while driving the air flow is cooling down engine.
2 thermostat is messed up.
3 radiator and system might need a good flushing

Old 01-01-2007, 01:39 AM
sprmn1968