2nd Gen Durango 2004 - 2009

Newbie here with questions...

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2010, 10:00 AM
RangoStar
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie here with questions...

Hey gang,

I have bought a 2004 Durango Limited 2 years ago. The vehicle has been a very good vehicle, other than my 300M, this is by far the best vehicle i've owned. It's comfortable, fun to drive and safe.

I bought it with 78,000km (48,000 miles) and I now have 106,000km (62,000 miles) I had to replace both lower ball joints not longer after the purchase, then the sway bar bushings and an heat shield was tightened up a few times. Now, I just replaced another ball joint, both front shocks and I hear another clunking, could that be the sway bar bushings again?

Also, once in a while (happened 3 times), slowing down to a stop sign, it would stall and would restart right away, no engine lights on or anything.

Also, I know that it's a heavy beast with a V8, but is there anything I could do to increase the gas mileage a bit.

I was told by the Chrysler dealer when I got my oil change done at 98,000kms that I was due for new spark plugs, replace transmission fluids and differencial fluids and they quoted almost $700 to do the work. I started another job and I don't make much money and was wondering if that could wait a bit before being replaced. I could probably do the plugs myself, if it's not too much of an assle.

Is there any other stuff I need to keep an eye on? Any problem spots with these Durangos?

Thanks!!

Ian

On Edit: I forgot to ask how the AWD system works. Is it like a RWD and when the back wheels start spinning, power is sent to the front wheels or it's the 4 wheels on all the time?

Last edited by RangoStar; 11-18-2010 at 10:05 AM.
Old 11-21-2010, 09:32 PM
n8ech
Record Breaker
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Hi Ian: