2nd Gen Durango 2004 - 2009

"reprogram" ABS?

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2017, 10:45 AM
Oranuf
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question "reprogram" ABS?

(Preface: I know next to NOTHING about repairing vehicles. While I can drive you around town and change wiper fluid, power steering fluid, and maybe add oil, and I can wash it to make it look perty, you don't want me under the hood or underneath the vehicle for any length of time. People would pay me NOT to do those things if they knew just how little I know. What can I say... I was a musician and computer nerd first. I am a shadyrepairman's dream, because of this. )

Okay, so here's the deal. My 2001 Durango finally had to go... it owed me nothing - left every bit of itself out on the trails. Rusted out, became mildly unsafe. She had a dignified sale to someone that knows cars, and I proceeded to hunt for a newer one.

Found a 2004 Durango at a dealership in PA. Clearly a Florida vehicle, which carfax confirmed. Many miles, but beautiful on the outside and the inside, and the test drive went well.

The vehicle's prior owner apparently did some pretty heavy towing... both pulling the vehicle behind something, as well as using the vehicle to pull something. It was equipped with something (?) to, if I recall the description correctly, "keep the transmission cool" when being towed. I could be way off on this. All i know is, there's this unusual hose underneath the driver's seat.

It also, I think, was equipped with something to handle electric brakes on a trailer. There was a small box under the dash, and there's a weird additional wire/light thing about the size of a keyfob poking up through the top driver's side of the dash.

There's some hitch looking things on the front.

I could upload pics if this would help, but i bet the experienced among you pretty much know what's up with all these extras.

Anyway, we drove from PA back to NY without incident. Smooth ride, quiet powerful v8 engine, etc.