2nd Gen Neon 2000 - 2005 2nd Gen Neon

About to be a neon owner

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2011, 04:03 PM
CyrilKeir
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default About to be a neon owner

Hey hey.

I am about to purchase a 2000 Neon, and I was lurking here to get some ideas of what I'm in for.

It needs a paint job (badly), but has no rust. Test drove it, and it vibrated a little more than normal, but I'm assuming that is because the tires need replacing and balancing.

Ice cold A/C (which is a god send here in Florida, and will be my first car ever to actually have A/C.), 127k miles, and a recently replaced timing belt.

The only thing wrong with it, is one of the engine mounts is cracked/broken. Which adds to the vibration aspect, but I'd get that fixed in a few weeks if I purchased it.

All in all, the interior seems to be quite nice, and it is an especially good buy for the price.

I'm getting this car as a replacement to my '97 Monte Carlo Z34, because I drive for a living and 20mpg is killing me.

Anything I should look out for?

-Cyril

Old 02-10-2011, 10:59 PM
darthroush
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Originally Posted by CyrilKeir
Hey hey.

I am about to purchase a 2000 Neon, and I was lurking here to get some ideas of what I'm in for.

It needs a paint job (badly), but has no rust. Test drove it, and it vibrated a little more than normal, but I'm assuming that is because the tires need replacing and balancing.

Ice cold A/C (which is a god send here in Florida, and will be my first car ever to actually have A/C.), 127k miles, and a recently replaced timing belt.