2nd Gen RAM general discussion/NON-tech This section is for general discussions about your 2nd gen RAM. Non tech related RAM threads belong here.

Tool storage

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2017, 10:35 AM
02/01Ram
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Tool storage

As a Carpenter I need to carry lots of tools. I've had PUs with boxes in the back but I like having an empty bed. I have an 01 extended cab. I'd like to remove the back bench seat and build some sort of tool storage rack back there. I've got an idea of what I want.
I was wondering if any one might have any pics of what they did so I could exercise the gray matter with ideas. Thanks

Old 02-20-2017, 11:38 AM
primem
Record Breaker
Received 55 Likes on 50 Posts

haven't seen much for in cab storage but these bed storage system still leave the box usable.
they do have single sliders that would be narrow enough to fit in a cab.
check out this site
https://www.pickupspecialties.com/tr...e_drawers.html

Last edited by primem; 02-20-2017 at 11:41 AM.
Old 02-20-2017, 12:17 PM
02/01Ram
Rookie

Originally Posted by primem
haven't seen much for in cab storage but these bed storage system still leave the box usable.
they do have single sliders that would be narrow enough to fit in a cab.
check out this site
https://www.pickupspecialties.com/tr...e_drawers.html
Lots of nice stuff at that site. I especially like the draw idea, I'll give that a closer look. It would be perfect as a base to hold all the small stuff, one on each side. It would also give me a nice flat surface to build storage for the tool boxes/cases on top of it.

Old 02-20-2017, 09:37 PM
MrGman
Rookie
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

As a carpenter myself, not a chance in h$ll I could get all the tools I carry in the back of my club cab. I've got a large (24"x24"x width of box) lockbox in the back of my longbox that is packed full, and the backseat is packed up to the window just to get all the tools I need to carry into the truck, lol