2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Differential

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2007 | 06:40 PM
Shmo95
Default Differential

Ok im new to all the 4x4 stuff and i just had a question it might be dumb but oh well... Im lookin to buy diff lockers for my truck and was looking on some online stores and i was stumped on what diff is in my truck weather it would be a dana 44 or chrysler 9.25 it's a 95 1500 slt ext cab if anyone knows which one it would be it would be great help thanks

Old 12-18-2007 | 09:41 PM
Cereal Killer
Champion
Default RE: Differential

Your front axel is a Dana 44
Your rear axel is a Chrysler 9.25

Locking your rear axel is all good and fine
Locking your front axel is a poor idea. Since we have a CAD instead of lockout hubs it would cause your front driveshaft to rotate even when 4wd is not engaged. It would also interfere with steering. Also your Dana 44 is probably going to break if you lock it with tires any bigger than 33s.
If you're still interested in doing it run a search on "posi-lock". Or if you have alot of money check out airlockers. You can engage and disengage them at the flick of a switch, but they are pricey.

There aren't too many choices for the rear but the best isprobably the detroit. I'm looking at the Powertrax No-Slip myself simply for the easy install.

Old 12-20-2007 | 01:18 PM
tothewall
Rookie

I posted this on my local Jeep board and got this response:

can i curse? what a fawking idiot. its one thing to not know what you are talking about, then shut up and learn. but to be giving out "tech", and its dead wrong, pisses me off.