2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Exhaust Flow???

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2008, 10:04 PM
nater_660
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Exhaust Flow???

I just gutted the cat in my truck seeing that it was rattleing around and restricting exhaust flow,I had it straight piped b4 and now I put a muffler on it to retain some of the back pressur, but its definatley not loud enough for me, its actually quiet, I know my options are to get like a flowmaster or something, but im a full time student and can hardly pay for gas to get to my part time job. So im wondering if i straight pipe it again will i lose way too much back pressure and lose low end and mileage? If anyone has any ideas about what i could do for cheap id like to know thanks.

Old 04-03-2008, 10:09 PM
jasonw
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 22 Likes on 11 Posts
Default RE: Exhaust Flow???

Do you just have the stock exhaust pipe diameter size or...?

EDIT: If you are a college student with little money and can't afford your gas, why do you own two gas guzzling pickups (according to your sig)? [sm=confused06.gif]

Old 04-03-2008, 11:28 PM
nater_660

its stock size exhaust, well the hemi is my dads but i put quite a few miles on it, i own my 95 because i got an excellent deal on it. Had a 93 dakota before the v8 and it got bout same mileage so i didnt have much to lose. I just dont wanna spend too much money on the truck because it isnt worth that much. so thanks for the reply so far, do you think it would be ok with stock size pipe or not?

Old 04-04-2008, 04:17 AM
jasonw
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 22 Likes on 11 Posts

If its 2.25 or 2.5 inches in size like I think it is, no, thats restrictive.