2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

few questions about Gibson headers

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2008, 12:24 AM
Instigater
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default few questions about Gibson headers

I currently have "RAM HORN" headers and thinking about replacing them.Mine are "knock-offs", I thought I was saving money, but they are just more headaches. The flange is in the way of plug removal so bad that the boot actually touches the flange. There is noway that the OEM heat shields would have worked with these headers. Anyway to the questions:

1. I have a killer time trying to get to all of the bolts, are these like that too? At first they look like these are a pain, but the more I studied the pics, I think it may actually be pretty easy to get to the bolts from the top. Am I correct?

2. another concernare my newMSD wires, how is the routing? Looks like I'd have to "bend" the plug boots upward, or is the enough room for them to"loop" upward?Then it looks like they would route back above the headers, is this correct?

3. Finally, what about spark plug replacement, looks like kind of a tough job.(mine is currently near impossible)

I thought about grinding spark plug "relieves" into my flanges, and may still go that route, just looking at all options. I try to think of all avenues before any making purchases. Especially if I am fixxing a screw up, LOL! Anyway thanks in advance, I love this site, there are plenty of knowledgable guys that love to help out! And the responses come fast too! Thanks!!!!

Old 04-07-2008, 08:58 PM
Instigater
Default RE: few questions about Gibson headers

bump

Old 04-07-2008, 09:09 PM
Dtruck96
Professional