2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Not a Dodge but ball joint help.

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2008, 08:37 PM
hometheaterman
Champion
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Not a Dodge but ball joint help.

I started trying to do the ball joints on my 94 Chevy Caprice Classic today. This is the first time I've ever done ball joints on anything so I'm kind of new to this.I got the uppers on in on the side I started on. It was a little of a pain but it was doable. Anyway I moved onto the lower and got the knuckle off I just have to press the ball joint out. I got a Harbor Frieght ball joint press and can't figure out how to use it. What I was thinking was you need to put the hollow tube thing at the top around the threaded part of the ball joint and the round piece on the bottom so it hits the joint to push it up. I might be doing it wrong as it seems like the press just wants to slip off instead of pressing the joint out. It's also hard to get the knuckle to stay out of the way. Should I have down the lowers before I did the top? Any tips on how to get this stupid thing pressed out? It's kind of a pain. The top ones were riveted in and while a pain were easier than the lower. Any tips? How do I use this press? Thanks.

Old 04-08-2008, 08:50 PM
mopowar
Record Breaker
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Not a Dodge but ball joint help.

I've got the same set- I think. It came from Harbor Freight. On my neighbors car, we had to go to the hardware store andget a small section of rigid pipe and cut it tokind of 'rig' and extra piece to the set. It's almost like thing (the "set") is a puzzle.

Old 04-08-2008, 09:01 PM
hometheaterman
Champion