2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Steering Box Help

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2008, 04:06 PM
Skoubah
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Steering Box Help

It turns out i had a leaking pressure hose, so i went and picked up another, after removing the old one which was no walk in the park i installed the old one.

I installed it fine to the pump but it wont go into the box, well it goes in a bit before stripping, its just not seating well, i bought 2 hoses and they are the correct size. Im a bit of a noob and can do small jobs but when i hit a wall like this im done, can anyone tell me what i have to do, im sure its something about re-threading but what do i buy and what size. The family mechanic took one of the hoses to get it fixed but waiting for him can literally take months, id like to get it up and running on this long weekend.

Thanks a lot in advanced.

Old 08-31-2008, 05:35 PM
zman17
Retired Moderator - RIP
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts

Well if you damaged the threads in the steering box you really (no pun intended)screwed up bad. I would remove the hose completely and clean the threads on it and what you can see in the steering box. I would also connect the steering box end first to get it started by hand.

Old 09-01-2008, 08:20 AM
Skoubah
Rookie

the box looks fine actually, what i can see at least, its the hose that gets stripped.

It it goes in a tiny tiny bit then pope out if you try to screw it in. I hate to say this because im not a hack but there must be something, some kind of hack to get this done, then if i have to buy a steering box next time i will, but if i could get it working now that would be great and like i said god forbid i have to replace the hose again down the line that when ill buy the new box.