2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

oil press. problem...and gear question

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2009, 11:54 PM
spudbud2005
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default oil press. problem...and gear question

i have a 98 dodge ram 1500 and since the 4 years i have owned my truck this has only happen 2 times so its just is a once in a blue moon thing...but the first time this happen..i was going down the highway and i stopped at a stop light then i heard a ding looked down and i had no oil pressure then it went up....down...up...down....then when i start to drive...its fine...that was about 5 months ago....but today i was pulling a trailer with a truck on it and it did the same thing...could i have a sensor going out or something?

and the 2nd thing is i have 305/70/16's and im new to the whole re-gearing thing...any suggesting on what kind of gearing i need to go with? i mainly drive country roads and barely go in the city stop and go traffic....and once in a while ill pull a loaded trailer

Old 05-16-2009, 02:04 AM
dakotas ram
Champion
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

what is your pressure at idle? while driving? miles on engine? sounds like a wiring/ sender/ guage problem

Old 05-16-2009, 02:08 AM
Laramie1997
Grand Champion
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Yea sounds like the sending unit is going bad.

As far as gearing, what do you have now? if you have the crap 3.21, or 3.55 I would jump to 3.92, or a 4.10....

Old 05-16-2009, 09:11 AM
dhvaughan
Hall Of Fame
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

could be a sensor, could be sludged up pickup tube or drain tubes from head, could be weak oil pump, could be low on oil, could be a little excessive bearing clearance.

depends some on how deep you want to go, and what else you might want to do.