2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Heater/AC

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2010, 01:52 AM
Loki666
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Heater/AC

Hello gents brand new here but have read thru many posts so far and theres alot of outstanding tips and advice. I tried the search first before deciding to post my first of probably many questions. I am no mechanic by any sense of the word I know just the very basics, so I have asked friends and family and have gotten many conflicting answers. I just bought a 98 Ram 1500 Sport V8 5.9L 4WD about a month or so ago. The serpintine belt I currently have on is the one that bypasses the A/C. Do I need to get the belt that doesnt bypass it so my heat will work? The heat mostly blows cool which here in upstate NY kind of feels warm but it doesnt cut it when the temp drops down into the negatives. The thermostat is new made the dealer replace it before i bought it, havent had the coil flushed or anything but after reading alot of these posts that will be done in the next day or two. Any advice is greatly appreciated thanks.
Eric

Old 02-12-2010, 01:57 AM
wake
Captain

hey Eric..welcome

whats your temp guage sit at when you try the heat..like is it at running temp 185-200ish*?

usually your a/c is bypassed for a reason..but as far as i know..it only affects your defroster..

this could possibly be a plugged heater core..ive only delt with leaking heater cores so ill let the pros give you ways to find out if yours is clogged

Old 02-12-2010, 02:10 AM
Loki666

Thanks for the fast reply and for the welcome, the temp usually sits 140ish never goes higher. What would a reason for the A/C being bypassed be? I need a defroster absolutely so looks like Ill have to change the belt over.

Old 02-12-2010, 02:17 AM
wake
Captain

140ish??