2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Shopping for a Ram

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2011, 06:16 PM
bucks&trucks
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Shopping for a Ram

Hey, I am new to the dodge world, just sold my chevy and im looking for a 99-01 1500 or 99-02 2500 quad cab short box automatic 4x4.

Any pros and cons to these trucks. anything to avoid anything to look for? How are the 1500's compared to the 2500's?

How about lifting these trucks.... how do they handle, hows the install of the lift. I am looking forward to the front coil suspension but its all new to me lol.

Any advise will be greatly appreciated. Thanx

Adam

Old 03-06-2011, 07:01 PM
BAD_SS/T

You picked a good site, there is plenty of info on here.

I can't speak for the 4x4 crowd. But my 98 SS/T handles really well for a truck.

The 2500 and 3500 trucks have beefer suspension and axles compared to the 1500 (correct if wrong)
And there are plenty of suspension kits for these trucks. And over all are easy to mod.

One thing to look into doing if you get a 5.2/5.9 is do a plenum mod. There are plenty of threads on here about it.

Old 03-06-2011, 08:09 PM
wyomingdodge7
Veteran

Welcome to the site!

I love my truck to pieces, they are super easy to work on, because they aren't full of all the electronic garbage of the new ones, I don't know how much lifting you are looking at doing, but my leveling kit was easy to put on.
They are solid as s*^&, not much is going to stop one of these.
Were you looking into a diesel or gas?
In terms of cons, the plenum thing like BADSS mentioned,some tranny issues and also some vacuum 4x4 problems seem to be the most common in terms of problems.