2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

what axle do i have?

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2013, 08:52 PM
smoky614
Professional
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question what axle do i have?

Alright, well im in the process of buying some tie rod ends and hit a few snags. Called up napa and they asked if I had the dana 44 split axle or not. How do I know the diff. I thought i read somewhere that they came stock with a dana 44 split axle because of the CAD system, or does that have nothing to do with a making it a split axle? Cause i went and bought a book and it says its a solid axle. Obviously im no mechanic, and and ive never messed with an axle or tie rods so im lost, but i cant stand the idea of paying someone to do something i know i can do(as long as i can get the right parts!lol) and let me know if i read the book wrong, but the right side TRE is the same as the drag link, right?

Old 05-13-2013, 08:56 PM
dhvaughan
Hall Of Fame
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

you need to fill out your profile with your truck info...

if you have a 1500 truck, you have a dana 44 in the front and chrysler 9.25 in the rear.

the dana 44 is a split axle, as it has the CAD disconnect.
its also a "solid front axle" because of the solid tube, as opposed to "independent front suspension" (IFS).

Old 05-13-2013, 08:57 PM
stewie01
Legend
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Old 05-13-2013, 09:16 PM
smoky614
Professional
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts