2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Heavy Duty/Durability for the 5.9L

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2022, 11:15 PM
aniskoboi
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Heavy Duty/Durability for the 5.9L

Hey all! I'm new here and was hoping for a little help.

I'm at a point with my pickup I'm ready to overhaul a lot of things on it. It's a 96 1500 with a 5.9L and an auto trans. My main focus atm is the motor. I'm wanting to build a new engine for it since it's got plenty of leaks to pick and choose from, however this is my first time building up a Magnum (I mainly mess with turboprops lol) and I want to do it right. Does anyone know any rebuild kits, parts, etc. I should upgrade or buy to give the engine more durability? I'm not necessarily looking for power gains, just (somewhat) over the top or better quality parts that will keep the engine running for a long time.

All I have planned at the moment is the Hughes airgap intake, and stock ported heads. However, I could totally be wrong about those plans, which is why I'm asking for second opinions from others who have experience in this or similar situations. ANY help is appreciated! TIA!

Old 07-29-2022, 10:13 AM
AtomicDog
Champion
Received 319 Likes on 301 Posts

When I swapped the existing 5.9 magnum motor with a good used 5.9 motor in my truck a while back, I was in the same boat. I wanted to enhance the reliability and longevity of the engine. To that end, I added the following parts, in addition to the normal parts, such as new water pump, FelPro engine gasket set, re-manufactured distributor, etc. :
. double roller timing chain and gear set
. timing chain tensioner
. Mopar Performance hardened oil pump drive
. Melling high volume oil pump
. Hughes intake plenum plate kit