2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Spark Plugs

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2006, 07:35 PM
miknwv
Veteran
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Spark Plugs

Hello all....I'm fairly new to Dodge Rams and have a couple of questions before I change the spark plugs.

First off....I have a 2001 360 5.9L. I helped a friend change the plugs on his 2005 Dodge Dakota and he had coil packs instead of actual plug wires. Since I have yet to open my hood, I was wondering if the 2001 Rams have coil packs or regular plug wires.

Another question is....what's the recommended gap for the end of the plugs?

I've never really gotten into this DIY stuff until recently, I always had all minor work done somewhere for me since I hardly had time to do anything. Now that I have time, I'm gonna take this stuff on myself.

Umm.....nother question real quick. I want to change my air filter and someone said I had to take the air filter box off the motor...?!?! Can't I just unclip the top and open it up?

All input greatly appreciated...keep in mind, i'm a noob!! lol

Old 02-09-2006, 08:01 PM
Rammer
Rookie
Default RE: Spark Plugs

Don't know about the plugs...but as for the air filter. On my truck (a '99) You do have to take the connection from the engine off since it won't just unclip and move out of the way enough to get the filter out. Nothing major. Easy to do.

Old 02-10-2006, 12:03 PM
ASH
Veteran

First step, open the hood and check for the sticker that lists your engine size. It should either be on the underside of the hood or on the support in front of the radiator. This will tell you your spark plug gap, it should be 0.035", but I might be wrong. The 5.9L has a distributor and spark plug wires. The distributor is at the back of the motor and is not easy to get to.