2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Posi unit

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2006, 07:57 PM
Dodge4x4810
Veteran
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Posi unit

I was gonna replace my lsd in my truck because it does not work that well anymore...it will probably be in the summer time (weekend project), should i just buy one of these for cheap...Ebay Posi Unit...or spend the money and buy a new one. Also, how difficult is this, i have never done something like that before, i have all the knowledge to do it, just never done it before because right now i am in college and do not exactly have alot of money...if i did my truck would probably have a big lift with a 408 stroker [sm=badbadbad.gif]

Thanks

Old 12-02-2006, 08:31 PM
kstroeher
Professional
Default RE: Posi unit

That rebuilt Auburn is what I'm contemplating. If I don't do that, I'll probably just replace the stock carrier and stick with the trac-loc.

Old 12-03-2006, 12:19 AM
Nitroman
Rookie

I have seriously been thinking of a Ox Locker. Only thing holding me back is the idea of that cable. It is in a good place to be broken.

Old 12-03-2006, 01:50 PM
IndyRamMan
Champion

I dont know how diffacult it is, as I have never done one before, but my guess at the mechanics of the thing... remove tires, breaks, calipers+rotors/drums (idk what these trucks have), axle locks, pull the axles back, take the ring gear, bolt to posi...re install. I KNOW im missing quite a few steps, but from what i recolect thats the basic idea. correct me if im wrong.

Old 12-03-2006, 03:00 PM
kstroeher
Professional

I think where things get tricky is setting backlash and such. Screw that up and you just wasted your money.

Old 12-03-2006, 03:22 PM
IndyRamMan
Champion

ORIGINAL: kstroeher