3rd Gen Dakota 2005 - 2011 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 3rd Gen Dakota.

Picking up truck from auto body, what to look for??

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2010, 02:26 PM
baracis
Record Breaker
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Picking up truck from auto body, what to look for??

Gonna pick up my truck hopefully Friday. What should I look for and test after a big front end collision? This is my first time doing this and I don't want to miss anything.

Old 05-05-2010, 02:50 PM
rengnath
Champion

Well I sure hope they have an allignment rack .... because even in a small collision the chassis can get turned a little bit and your truck wont go down the road straight. First thing would is I would ask if they alligned it .... and hopefully they say yes.

To tell if it needs to be alligned after the body work, see if the truck pulls in any direction when you let go of the wheel or take off from a stop light. Also, have the person who dropped you off at the body shop follow you home. Have them stay back a good distance and see if your truck looks straight going down the road. Try to go down a hilly road, so at certain points they can be at eye level with your tires. All four tires should be in line with eachother. If its not alligned, it will probably look like your truck is going crooked down the road.