3rd Gen Dakota 2005 - 2011 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 3rd Gen Dakota.

20 hour drive for a truck that I'm not 100% on.

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2011, 12:38 AM
T_Visk
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 20 hour drive for a truck that I'm not 100% on.

https://dodgeforum.com/forum/car-tru...dakota-ct.html

I talked to this guy a little. And the truck sounds solid mechanically. But the body/paint doesn't seem to be in as good condition as I want. Along with some cigarette burns inside. It's under my budget so maybe could take out a few extra grand on the loan to try and fix these things. I would definitely change some mods but I like most of what he has done with the truck.

What's your guys opinion on price and would you buy if were in my shoes?

Thanks.

Old 05-09-2011, 04:20 AM
projektdirtfab
Record Breaker
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

well this is my opinion, and i fix cars and trucks for a living so it may vary from someone elses.

but when ive always shopped for a car or truck. the body was the last on my priority list (as far as paint and trim, NOT straightness or rust. THOSE are important)

BUT when i buy vehicles, the main thing i look at is mechanicals. how much will a part cost ME (parts, not labor) to fix something. Since paint jobs are cheap and dent repair is part of a paint job, that was always no problem for me.

But if major components dont need to be replaced (ie. trans, heads, any major ecm, pcm, or similar computers.) than i feel more comfortable about buying it.

stupid little things like needs brakes or tires soon. etc. i usually hassle the seller and make it sound like a big deal to drop the price. but in reality (if your mechanically inclined) things like brakes are easy ways to drop the price because its cheaper for you to do them yourself once you buy the truck.

Old 05-09-2011, 08:18 AM
jkeaton
DF Admin
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 349 Likes on 310 Posts