3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Lifter Noise?

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2007, 03:02 PM
HUTCH
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lifter Noise?

Newbie here. I've got an 02 Ram with the little 4.7. When I crank this thing up cold, it makes the worst "chattering" noise I've ever heard. Sounds almost like a diesel. I've been told it's my lifters. Can anyone confirm that's what it is and make any suggestions as far as how to remedy?

Thanks a ton........RTR

Old 05-04-2007, 06:14 PM
The_Bishop
Amateur
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Lifter Noise?

What oil/filter are you using? A quality filter is a must - If it's Fram, toss it in the garbage. Wix is good, and I think Napa Gold is manufactured by WIX, too.

Old 05-04-2007, 07:34 PM
HUTCH

Always used Fram filters, so that's one hit against me, it sounds like. I used Havoline 10W30 for a year or so, then switched to Mobil1 Synthetic not too long after the "chattering" began. I've ran 2 oil changes through it using the synthetic and haven't seen any improvement. The noise has actually gotten gradually worse. Used to stop all together in less than a minute, now its longer and louder. I'm not much of a mechanic, so I'm a little concerned.

Old 05-04-2007, 10:19 PM
Pappy_FB
Record Breaker

Hi Hutch,

What is your oil level (on the dip stick) cold (has not been running for a while) on level ground?
It might be as simple as adding a half a qt of oil.

If you are worried take it in and have it checked out and fixed.