3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Dealer Tune up ?

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2007, 03:18 AM
Pokherplayer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dealer Tune up ?

My Truck (04 Hemi Quadcab) issurging at low RPM and the Check engine light is on so I took it ot the dealer to have it checked out.

Its Got almost 60K on it

Ok, my dealer qouted me ......

Needs a new EGR Valve.
Plugs
Throttle Body cleaned
Injectors cleaned

Almost $850 for this

Im a Certified aircraft mechanic so I have the tools etc

How do I clean the throttle body? Is that just spraying the TB or Carb cleaner in the bores?
(Is there a difference between TB cleaner and Carb cleaner?) Or is there more to it?

What else needs to be done at 60K ?

thanks

LP

Old 06-30-2007, 03:36 PM
Duso02
Captain
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Dealer Tune up ?

From the top:

EGR-easy change from what I've read. Fwd on the #2 side of the eng. I've heard they run about $50 at the parts stores.