3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

PlasmaGlow Fire and Ice led light bar

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2008, 08:21 AM
abarmby
Champion
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default PlasmaGlow Fire and Ice led light bar

Just pulled off my old PlasmaGlow fire and ice led light bar, to replace it with the new firestorm bar, as the old fire and ice had stopped working and the new bar looks cool.

Imagine myHORROR when I found thatALL the original plasmaglow wiring leading into the light bar, were all burned out!!! [/align]The Fire and ice description, certainly fitted[:@]
So much so, that ALL the plastic insulation was melted and burned and twisted.
Please bear in mind, that I was a qualified electrical technician and used only the best quality materials to solder the plasmaglow wires into my truck harness and I sealed them all, with heat shrink tubing that contains the epoxy stuff to stop water ingress etc.
I also wrapped all the joints in self amalgamating tape to exclude all moisture etc and wrapped it all up with the corrugated conduit that protects our truck harness.
None of the soldered joints were "dry joints", with the solder flowing freely around and into the joints, so a high resistance joint causing a heat build up, just wasn't possible.
I'm horrified about this as, I risked a big electrical fire in my truck just for the sake of some lights, that seemed to "look cool".
None of the joints or the wires in the truck harness were burned or damaged at all. ONLY the black thin plasmaglow wires leading into the light bar.
It appears to me that the gauge of the wires supplied with the bar, do not appear to be man enough for the job????? [sm=confused06.gif]

Either that, or there was an internal short circuit in the light bar itself???