3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Basic subs+amp for a 06 ram 1500 basic cab

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2008, 09:41 PM
DanTheDodgeDood
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Basic subs+amp for a 06 ram 1500 basic cab

Hey I am a college student and don't have ton of cash to throw around, but would like to play with having subs with my basic system to make it sound better. Behind the seats is a *tub* from the factory where I can store stuff. I figure I could put some subs in there...

Is that even possible with the stock 06 ram basic factory headunit? I have never done car audio before... but could figure it out fairly easy.

Can anyone recommend a cheap basic amp + 2 10 inch sub setup I could use? That sounds decent and would work with the factory headunits? I am hoping to only have to spend around 200 max for it all. I would eventually upgrade the speakers in the 2 doors too... and maybe the headunit eventually.

Also can anyone reccomend a box that custom fits the basic cab?
Thanks

Old 10-07-2008, 11:07 PM
Ben D.
Champion

just take the tub out and you've got tons of room and i mean tons. honestly regular cabs have more room than the quads and megas do for audio.

honestly tho if the budget is 200 bux i'd say just take audio off the list for right now. nothing of quality when it comes down to a box, amp, and subs will be in the range of 200. maybe 600 at cheapest. doing a budget build is fine but 200 is going to get you equipment that is cheap, unreliable, and won't sound good at all.

Old 10-07-2008, 11:27 PM
DanTheDodgeDood

Originally Posted by Ben D.
just take the tub out and you've got tons of room and i mean tons. honestly regular cabs have more room than the quads and megas do for audio.