3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Exhaust options...

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2009, 12:52 PM
javera
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Exhaust options...

Hi all,

I am a newbie here. I just purchased a 07 V6 for my son. He would like it to sound a little deeper. Being that he is 16 and doesnt really know more than he wants it to sound cool. What are some good, inexpensive options to make it louder?

I have read some of the previous posts, but i am thinking they sound a little more involved than we want to get. Im thinking as cheap as possible, but nothing that will cause problems. His christmas list for this truck is already pretty long!

So any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Jim

Old 10-26-2009, 06:38 PM
chambers
Record Breaker
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Probably the best and cheapest way to make it louder would be to pull the stock muffler off (it should just be clamped on), buy a magnaflow 18" single in/single out oval muffler, clamp it on, and put a turn down on it to dump it under the bed. You might be able to reuse the stock tailpipe if you want it exit by the tire. I have a magnaflow 14" and compared to stock it is very loud so I think 18" would be a bit quieter but by no means quiet.

Old 10-27-2009, 12:31 AM
Twink
Veteran

cut off stock muffler, buy a cherry bomb muffler ( like 60$ ) clamp it on, get a peice of pipe bend and do a side dump BEFORE the rear tire on passenger side..

should be loud and sound deeper than stock and it'll be under 100$ ( CDN )

Old 10-27-2009, 12:39 AM
derricksmash
V6 Ram Moderator

cheapest out would be a muffler. have someone put it on there and redirect the tailpipes to however you want. if you don't care, just clamp it on yourself, and get a pipe and just bend it down...(so there will be no tail pipe).