3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

5spd trouble?

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2010, 02:29 AM
backdaman
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 5spd trouble?

Hello all,
I'm a newb, but I have had my 2003 since I bought it new. Still love it today.

My problem is I have noticed sometimes when I press the clutch and shift into reverse, SOMETIMES it grinds the gears. It doesn't happen a lot just sometimes. Is there something I should adjust? It's not slipping so I don't think it's the clutch and it only happens when I try to shift into reverse occassionaly. Most times it acts normal.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Old 01-11-2010, 04:41 AM
derricksmash
V6 Ram Moderator

are you completely stopped when u put it in reverse?

edit: sorry if that's uber offending.

Old 01-11-2010, 12:10 PM
chambers
Record Breaker
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Try going into another gear first like 3rd then shift into reverse. Other than that change the tranny fluid if you haven't done it in awhile my magnet was covered in metal at 28k miles and it shifted much better after the change.

Old 01-11-2010, 07:41 PM
xanadu62
Rookie

A common thing with almost any standard trans is that after a while, gears like first and reverse will have a tendency to not want to go in even with the clutch pushed all the way in. The next thing that will start happening is that reverse won't want to go in at all and first will start grinding. If you hold the she shifter back and try to put it into reverse, but don't force it, and ease off the clutch just a hair, it will slide right in once the trans turns a bit. Once again, a common thing. Just a sign that it could use to be serviced.

Old 01-11-2010, 11:48 PM
backdaman

Originally Posted by derricksmash
are you completely stopped when u put it in reverse?