3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

High Idle/ Cam Code

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2010, 01:14 PM
toddrs93
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default High Idle/ Cam Code

Hello I have a 2003 Ram 4.7L.

First off I am an auto technician so I am not completely lost, but 90% of what I work on is foreign cars. This is my personal truck, and my first go with the 4.7L engine.

I purchased the truck running, but with a blown headgasket. There was a questionable engine noise which may have been bearings, but not loud enough to give me a huge cause for concern. Money is tight so I decided to try to get away with just replacing the headgasket.

I completed the job and it starts right up, but idles at around 3300rpms. When you give it any gas it just bounces off 3500rpms as if its stuck in some kind of limp mode. The motor seems to sound OK though its difficult to hear with the high idle, there are no signs of any other damage.

The only code I get is a P0016, Cam/Crankshaft position correlation sensor. Both the cam and crank sensors seem fine, wiring is fine, and they were fine before. Throttle body, IAC, TPS all seem to be OK. I think the cam code is an indication it jumped time, however I have never heard of an increased idle from jumped time, and it seems to run OK. Maybe I have more than one problem but I would really like to figure out the idle.

Old 03-01-2010, 03:02 PM
weedahoe
Hall Of Fame
Hall of Fame Member
Received 21 Likes on 20 Posts

4.7's are bad about blowing head gaskets so thats nothing new.

Try looking here and see if any of this helps

https://dodgeforum.com/forum/3rd-gen...m-alldata.html

Old 03-05-2010, 11:48 PM
toddrs93
Rookie