3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

need tips on painting

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2010, 11:22 AM
lastrights
Grand Champion
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default need tips on painting

i started painting my cowl hood last night and got water on it from the guns, now i gotta get more paint and wet sand the whole thing and start over.

would it be a good idea to hang the hood or leave it flat ?

do you wet sand before putting clear coat on ?

um anything else would help thanks

Old 07-16-2010, 02:54 PM
weedahoe
Hall Of Fame
Hall of Fame Member
Received 21 Likes on 20 Posts

I would leave it flat unless you are really good at painting. Having it vertical would allow the paint to run if you dont spray it correctly. And I though wet sanding was always done before adding clear? Im not sure on that one though. I obviously dont paint much but would like to learn being my future int/ext plans will need painting done.

Old 07-16-2010, 03:26 PM
lastrights
Grand Champion
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

i just talked to the guy that sold me the paint he says dont wet sand the base. just clear it and buff the shiz outta it

Old 07-16-2010, 04:02 PM
Marx
Record Breaker
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

if you hang it there is less chance of getting **** on it, just do light coats. might take 3 or 4 coats but its worth it.
my dad does it like this
1 st coat let dry 3 hours, then apply the second coat (remember use light coats at this stage you might still see thru the paint depending on what colour it is) let that dray 3 more hours then do a thrid coat and let it dry over night
then do a LIGHT wet sand (to remove any dirt that may have dryed on if you think it looks ok you can skip this step), then put your final coat on let that dry 24 hours