3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Lift issues

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2011, 02:43 PM
xjfever
Professional
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lift issues

Hi everyone. I am new to the IFS world, I have lifted lots of jeeps and currently own 3 of them. I am a complete newb with the IFS trucks though and have a few questions. I have an 04 QC 4x4 1500 with the hemi/auto and would like to lift it. Will going with a lift like the rough country 4-5" cause any driveline vibrations, and will I need anything other than the lift and a front end alignment? Sorry if these questions have been beat to death but I have been searching for a few days and couldn't find the answers I needed. Thanks in advance.

Last edited by xjfever; 06-03-2011 at 02:48 PM.
Old 06-03-2011, 08:37 PM
HammerZ71
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts

You shouldn't, the pre-'06 Rams with the torsion fronts don't seem to suffer the vibration issues that can be a problem with the coil-over front IFS Rams.

I have the Rancho 4" kit and if anything, it drives better on the highway.

I was in the same boat as you, this was my first IFS lift, done three SFA trucks and two Wranglers as well as a simple BB on my current Grand Cherokee myself...

Old 06-03-2011, 08:45 PM
xjfever
Professional

Thanks, I knew the driveshafts were longer but my 99 grand cherokee came with the rezeppa shaft with the cv's at both ends and after 4" of lift it lasted less than a month. My ram has the cv at the t-case end and I wasn't sure if it would be a problem or not. Still not sure if I want to go with a full suspension lift or just a leveling kit, but it seems the leveling kit would be harder on the axle cv's. I don't plan to go much taller than 33" tires, just can't stand how low it sits now.